Snowmass Colorado

Very Good

4.2 / 5

based on 46 reviews

Trails

Beginner
10%
Intermediate
43%
Advanced / Expert
47%

Trail maps

Overview

Aspen Colorado is a top ski resort in the world, for many reasons, four ski mountains, a great Colorado ski town, legendary après ski, on mountain ski hotels, gorgeous scenery and great ski events. Of Aspen Skiing Company's four ski resorts, with 5,500 acres combined, Snowmass is the largest, bigger than Aspen Mountain (Ajax),  Aspen Highlands, and Buttermilk which are separate but all included on one lift ticket. It's a 10-mile drive to Snowmass from downtown Aspen.

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Snowmass
Very Good

4.2 / 5

based on 46 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
LLynnanne
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 03, 2012
loved the variety of terrain! Kept snowing every day we were there adn so many hidden stashes of powder..in bounds, out of bounds...just great!
MMargaret
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 30, 2012
We learned to ski at Snowmass and my instructor was very good and we have gone back there several more times. We like the bus system, the slopes and accommodations
KKeith
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 19, 2012
We've only been there once, but we remember so many good cruising runs that were perfect for both of us--one a low-end blues skier and one an advanced-blues skier. We also liked the place we stayed: roomy, convenient location for a decent price.
KKirk
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 04, 2012
3 times in Aspen/Snowmass, and they were 3 of my top 4 ski trips.
RRyan
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jul 25, 2011
Best ski-in/ski-out resort! Great skiing during the day, and Aspen is just down the road for great nightlife.
PPamela
Very Good!

4 / 5

Mar 18, 2011
Snomass has a great combination of ski terrain, accomodations, village area, and ski school. All employees we met were welcoming and friendly.
JJ
Very Good!

4 / 5

Feb 06, 2011
Like a combination of factors - terrain - long crusing plus more challange, if desired - wife and I are both intermediates. Also, like Svillage, reasonable accomodations - family friendly - close to Aspen but not quite as glitzy. Also enjoy lack f life lines!
KKathleen
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 29, 2010
Part of 4 MOuntain single ticket...lots of variety of terrain. Good on-mountain eating. Good grooming.
CChris
Very Good!

4 / 5

Feb 28, 2010
It's really not any one thing, but varied dining is one major factor we prefer the Snowmass area.
PPat
Very Good!

4 / 5

Dec 23, 2009
MOST SKIABLE TERRAIN, BEST CONDITIONS, NICE CLOSE TOWN, MANY DINING FACILITIES, SHOPPING IS SUPER, IN-DOOR AND OUTDOOR ICE SKATING RINK, SKI-IN,SKI-OUT ACCOMODATIONS AVAILABLE, WONDERFUL BREAKFAST INCLUDED IN MOST HOTEL ACCOMODATIONS. WONDERFUL WIDE OPEN RUNS AND LOTS OF ROOM.... More

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
3
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
13
Quad Chairs
2
Triple Chairs
2
Double Chairs
10
Surface Lifts
12

Elevation

Base
7,879 feet
Summit
12,510 feet
Vertical drop
4,631 feet

Terrain

Total runs
337
Terrain Parks
0
Longest Run
5 miles
Skiable Terrain
5,517 acres
Snowmaking Area
658 acres
Other ski resorts in

Aspen Snowmass, Colorado

Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%