Snowmass Colorado

Very Good

4.2 / 5

based on 46 reviews

Trails

Beginner
10%
Intermediate
43%
Advanced / Expert
47%

Trail maps

Overview

Aspen Colorado is a top ski resort in the world, for many reasons, four ski mountains, a great Colorado ski town, legendary après ski, on mountain ski hotels, gorgeous scenery and great ski events. Of Aspen Skiing Company's four ski resorts, with 5,500 acres combined, Snowmass is the largest, bigger than Aspen Mountain (Ajax),  Aspen Highlands, and Buttermilk which are separate but all included on one lift ticket. It's a 10-mile drive to Snowmass from downtown Aspen.

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Snowmass
Very Good

4.2 / 5

based on 46 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
JJim
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jan 15, 2009
High altitude, rather open slopes, ski in ski out lodging and good elbow room.
DDaniel
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 06, 2009
Snowmass is simply the best, it is secluded and has a wide variety of terrain the equivalent of four different ski resorts.
LLisa
Very Good!

4 / 5

Dec 19, 2008
I actually stayed in Aspen, but I prefer to ski Snowmass because of its varied terrain and the scenery.
JJean
Very Good!

4 / 5

Nov 17, 2008
We can always count on Snowmass for a lot of snow. Sometimes heavy and wet but there is a lot of it. The access to the mountain(s) is excellent when flying into Aspen.
SScott
Very Good!

4 / 5

Nov 01, 2008
Tremendous Variety, Proximity to other Ski areas, and to the town of Aspen, Large amount of ski in/out lodging, family friendly
BBob
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 01, 2008
I have told many fellow skiers this very statement. Snowmass has the best combination of all levels of runs and the grooming is the best. Aspen is nearby, for additional challenges and the villages with many choices for fine dining, make this ski trip, my FAVORITE. Bob Jacobs
JJace
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 09, 2008
Snowmass has it all. It is great for a boys ski vacation, and it is great when I take my wife and daughter skiing as well. I enjoy the long cruising blues, and the challenging blacks. I don't find mysief getting bored when I ski with my family on the lesser blues and greens... More
SShannon
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 02, 2008
great mountain! 20 minutes to Aspen are fabulous restaurants and galleries....used to be great night life....hope it comes back
WWayne
Average!

3 / 5

Nov 20, 2007
A lot of long blue runs.
CCaroline
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 06, 2007
Stayed at Silvertree and loved it for the Shops, ski school, lifts right at hotel with ski in/out.

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
3
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
13
Quad Chairs
2
Triple Chairs
2
Double Chairs
10
Surface Lifts
12

Elevation

Base
7,879 feet
Summit
12,510 feet
Vertical drop
4,631 feet

Terrain

Total runs
337
Terrain Parks
0
Longest Run
5 miles
Skiable Terrain
5,517 acres
Snowmaking Area
658 acres
Other ski resorts in

Aspen Snowmass, Colorado

Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%