Breckenridge Colorado

Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 186 reviews

Trails

Beginner
11%
Intermediate
31%
Advanced / Expert
58%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Highest lift in North America at 12,840 ft for some big mountain shredding
  • Bustling historic mining town with a laid-back vibe
  • Party town reputation - they got après ski down packed
  • Wide range of lodgings from modest to luxury to suit all budgets
  • Award-winning terrain parks (some of the best in the world!)

The Bad

  • Epic wind chill so wrap up warm
  • High elevation means top lifts can close for days
  • Slopes can get crowded, ugh!
  • Snow can be blow-packed into a crusty shell
  • High altitude can cause altitude sickness

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Breckenridge
Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 186 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
MMarilyn
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 03, 2013
I've never skied (sp?) but I love the town of Breckenridge for it's quaint appearance, shops and scenery.
SShelley
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 02, 2013
There was room for everyone to stay comfortably. Everything we needed to do was within walking distance. The scenery was breathtaking.
RRon
Superb!

5 / 5

Dec 09, 2012
This wasa a nice town with plenty to do on and off the slopes. not too difficult.
DDien
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 21, 2012
Breckenridge is a laid-bck town with reasonable cost of living. It also beautiful and scenic mountain to ski and other activity. It is the closest to DEN airport.
DDiane
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 05, 2012
Beaver Run has excellent ski-in/ski-out accommodations directly on the mountain at the base! Breckenridge has been a favorite town of mine for over 30 years. It has an abundance of restaurants, shopping & family activities.
JJim
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 28, 2012
The town has the best and most relaxed atmosphere of the resorts I have been to. I always feel at home there even though I live in Indiana.
WWilliam
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 02, 2012
The weather is most consistent in this area and the trails are always well groomed, cover a large area rarely have to leave the mountain due to bad conditions.
KKen
Superb!

5 / 5

May 26, 2012
Breckenridge has a good variety of slopes, is family friendly, and has good night life.
SSunil
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 22, 2012
I love breckenridge. Being that the town is right at the base of the mountains is just wonderful. Also, it is quite close to Denver Airport.
DDonna
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 16, 2012
We were married there in 1999. We love the town, the mountain and the night life. Everythings in walking distance and since the addition of peak 7 the mountain is huge! Lots of blue runs but still blacks and doubles for the risky person. Also, the kids program and daycare is... More

Lifts

Gondola & Tram
1
High Speed Sixes
5
High Speed Quads
6
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chair
1
Double Chairs
6
Surface Lifts
15

Elevation

Base
9,600 feet
Summit
12,997 feet
Vertical drop
3,397 feet

Terrain

Total runs
187
Terrain Parks
4
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
2,908 acres
Snowmaking Area
600 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%