Crested Butte Colorado

Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 39 reviews

Trails

Beginner
26%
Intermediate
57%
Advanced / Expert
17%

Trail maps

Overview

Crested Butte, located in Colorado's south western Rocky Mountains, offers up a real cowboy town and some kick butt terrain - in fact, CB has hosted the annual Extreme Skiing World Championships for 22 years, but there is also lots of cruisers and modern lifts for families at the Butte too.

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Crested Butte
Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 39 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
BTABryan Thomas A.
expert skier
Very Good!

4.2 / 5

Nov 05, 2017
I have a bias opinion, I lived there for 8 years, the only reason I moved was I had a really bad wreck on August 22,2016 where I almost died ... More
JBJonathan B.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 30, 2017
The resort and spa was a phenomenal places to stay at just seconds from the slopes. All the ski lift operators are so friendly and nice and helpful. There's a great variety of different levels of skiing and the ski cat are phenomenal
BABryan A.
Average!

3 / 5

Oct 23, 2017
I love this place, I used to live here, and skied all over, Jackson and Tahoe included. I love the real snow. Far better than the man made stuff on the east coast
JWJake W.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 16, 2017
Reasonable prices, low crowds, and amazing terrain. It’s about 4 hours from Denver but if you can make a weekend trip out of it, it’s definitely worth it. CB doesn’t have the big resort feel that other big Colorado resorts have and the terrain is world class.
DEDaniel E.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 05, 2017
Steep and fun, great vibe in town. Not a Vail/Aspen vibe a more low key Texas vibe. Ask the bartender at the Avalanche what’s skiing there snarky fellow, knows his shit though. That’s all that matters.
KKim
Superb!

5 / 5

Nov 11, 2013
Ski-in Ski-out resort at the base of the mountain is just wonderful (Crested Mountain)
GGeorge
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 19, 2013
Stayed at another property right at the bottom of the ski slopes. Could watch the skiers from the hot tub.
LLesia
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 21, 2013
This is by far the prettiest ski area we have been to. The town is perfect,quaint,and packed with excellent dining. Not the easiest place to get to, so it is not as crowded. The drive from Colorado Springs was fun and scenic. It is the kids favorite ski resort,too.
CCurt
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 15, 2013
I never had a bad stay at Crested Butte. I wish I could afford to fly every year. Long drive from Clebune Texas. I know the mountain without a map. I hope to bring my extended family soon. Its just hard planning a trip for 20 people and all thoses schedules to work around.
LLynne
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 17, 2013
I've never been there when the snow conditions were less than great - even when the locals are complaining!

Lifts

Quad Chairs
2
Triple Chairs
2
Double Chairs
2
Surface Lifts
5

Elevation

Base
9,100 feet
Summit
12,162 feet
Vertical drop
3,062 feet

Terrain

Total runs
121
Terrain Parks
5
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
1,547 acres
Snowmaking Area
297 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%