Keystone Colorado

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
29%
Advanced / Expert
57%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Massive ski terrain covering over 3,000 ac
  • Some of best long groomers in Colorado
  • Award-winning terrain parks, with its own lift
  • Night skiing available
  • Affordable and family-friendly

The Bad

  • Crowds can be a problem, especially on weekends
  • Not much extreme terrain to challenge advanced skiers and boarders
  • Lack of snowfall compared to other Summit County resorts 

Find Freshies: The Outback offers gladed terrain featuring untouched pow otherwise hike to the bowls above the Santiago Express and Outback Express for the best fresh stuff. 

Ditch the Crowds: Take the Summit Express Lift instead of the River Run Gondola. Both take you from the base to the top of Dercum Mountain but the River Run Gondola gets quite crowded, particularly before 10:00am. 

Local's Pick: Wolverine, Wildfire, Pika and Porcupine in The Outback are all some of our favorites, they're very loosely defined in gladed terrain, so feel free to get wild here! 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Keystone
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
RFRashode F.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 08, 2017
My family and I have been going to Keystone for the last 5 years! As a Denver native, I have always went with the Rocky mountain super pass. However we have just fallen in love with the Epic mountains!! Mainly Keystone and Vail. They are beautiful mountains with wonderful lodging... More
NMNathan M.
Average!

3 / 5

Oct 08, 2017
Well maintained and good snow. High numbers of beginners and very crowded on holidays, can take a while to get away from the crowds. Charge for the snowcat, most resorts don't. No microwaves anywhere so don't bring your own food.
JJason
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 07, 2017
Pretty cool mountain that can get really crowded sometimes. Night skiing is nice if you are into that. Its location makes it convenient to access from Denver and the Front Range.
GCGlenn C.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 07, 2017
Nice village at base. Gondola to top.Good pitch plenty of places to get in the trees and great rolling groomers with views of the runs at Breakenridge on a clear day
JDJosh D.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 07, 2017
My favorite mountain by far. Big but cheaper than the bigger names. Usually not busy during the weekday, especially if you're there before noon. Ski right up to food and drinks.
JWJoshua W.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 06, 2017
I love keystone because it brings me life. As someone who works from home, struggles from depression and finding things to do. Winter is always my favorite time of the year to get out. KEYSTONE brings me life. And for that I am grateful
BRBrad R.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 06, 2017
I have been going to keystone regularly for 2 seasons and love the resort. Fast chairliftsn great runs, and close to denver! Check out the tree runs off of outback!
DMDave M.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 06, 2017
This place has great runs, and the shuttle is great btwn areas. Kids ski school is amazing and instructors keep kids challenged. Lifts are never long, friendly and the lodge brew abd atmoshpere is not stuffy like other resorts
TTommy
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 06, 2017
Keystone resort is awesome!!! One of my favorite mountains in CO. There is nothing like floating through the Outback on a deep powder day. Had 3 of the best days I've ever had last year.
JGJose G.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 05, 2017
Area 51 is one of the most impressive park layouts in all of Colorado. The level of risers that shred Keystone are in an elevated world of thier own. Such an endless amount of tree and powder riding. The cream of the crop however is the progression of riding that Keystone can... More

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
2
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chair
1
Double Chairs
3
Surface Lifts
7

Elevation

Base
9,279 feet
Summit
12,408 feet
Vertical drop
3,129 feet

Terrain

Total runs
131
Terrain Parks
1
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
3,148 acres
Snowmaking Area
662 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%