Keystone Colorado

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
29%
Advanced / Expert
57%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Massive ski terrain covering over 3,000 ac
  • Some of best long groomers in Colorado
  • Award-winning terrain parks, with its own lift
  • Night skiing available
  • Affordable and family-friendly

The Bad

  • Crowds can be a problem, especially on weekends
  • Not much extreme terrain to challenge advanced skiers and boarders
  • Lack of snowfall compared to other Summit County resorts 

Find Freshies: The Outback offers gladed terrain featuring untouched pow otherwise hike to the bowls above the Santiago Express and Outback Express for the best fresh stuff. 

Ditch the Crowds: Take the Summit Express Lift instead of the River Run Gondola. Both take you from the base to the top of Dercum Mountain but the River Run Gondola gets quite crowded, particularly before 10:00am. 

Local's Pick: Wolverine, Wildfire, Pika and Porcupine in The Outback are all some of our favorites, they're very loosely defined in gladed terrain, so feel free to get wild here! 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Keystone
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
WWilliam
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 31, 2017
Keystone is a awesome resort. The staff is friendly, the snow is good. They always keep the runs in great shape. I also find the ski lifts to be faster than most resorts. Overall my favorite place to shred.
MPMike P.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 28, 2017
Love keystone it has great runs and easy access to everything you need at a mountain. The back country is my favorite less people and all blues or blacks. I have stayed in the resort as well and the rooms were spot on
BPBrandon P.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 26, 2017
Love this resort. Welcoming to both the newcomer and experienced skier with a variety of terrain. They have gentle grommers for those who are still learning in addition to some more challenging runs in the backbowls. Even after skiing the same runs for a few seasons now, I still... More
EWEvan W.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 26, 2017
Awesome resort for the whole family. The front side offers a variety of skill level runs for everyone while venturing out back offers challenges for the experienced carver. All the big resort amenities without the crowd.
MSMatthew S.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 26, 2017
Easily my favorite resort. From the comfy gondola ride up the mountain, to the night skiing, as well as the proximity to Denver, Keystone can't be beat. Great runs as well.
GGee
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 24, 2017
This is one of our favorite resorts in Colorado to film for park shots! #A51 has some great world class rails and jumps as well as overall fun terrain. Keep it up! "Live Humorously" G- glevity.com
EDEsteban D.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 19, 2017
Keystone is a winter wonderland for skiers and riders. If you like groomers you can stick to the nice long runs. But if you like to get lost in the trees like me, Keystone has no shortage of amazing tree runs with rock face drop offs, log jibs and beautiful spots to take a break.... More
MSMatt S.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 18, 2017
How do I describe Keystone mountain resort? Well I'd have to day heaven because holy wow is it the best. To go to another resort would be among the craziest things you could ever do and if for whatever reason you do I would recommend you be tested because you are crazy. Thanks.
KHKevin H.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 17, 2017
There's plenty of great places to ride in Colorado. The walk up to Keystone's base deserves a theme song. It makes getting first lines and that deep powder that much more epic.
JJeff
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 16, 2017
Keystone Resort has been our go to for the 4 years. It almost gets better and better every time. Every time I show pictures of our trip to friends and family they can never believe how beautiful it is there. Everything you need is there. From the ice skating rink, to all the... More

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
2
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chair
1
Double Chairs
3
Surface Lifts
7

Elevation

Base
9,279 feet
Summit
12,408 feet
Vertical drop
3,129 feet

Terrain

Total runs
131
Terrain Parks
1
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
3,148 acres
Snowmaking Area
662 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%