Steamboat Colorado

Superb

4.5 / 5

based on 68 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
42%
Advanced / Expert
44%

Overview

Steamboat is one of the top resorts in Colorado. With 165 runs spanning 2965 acres, it is well worth a visit if you find yourself in the area. To give you a snapshot of the resort, we've put together a comprehensive list of key statistics, including mountain profile, lift system, historical opening and closing dates, and ticket pricing. Make sure you read the reviews left by skiers and riders who've experienced it first hand, and check out how they rate the resort!

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Steamboat
Superb

4.5 / 5

based on 68 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
CCristina
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 18, 2013
The people are great and the kids ski school is excellent. besides the fact, that they have the kids ski and rent free program.
DDonna
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 08, 2013
We took our two older children to their first ski lesson in Steamboat. Very organized, VERY good instructors. By the end of the trip they were able to keep up on the blues and my daughter could do some smooth blacks.
RRoy
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 10, 2013
Steamboat has a large ski area with excellent blue and black runs. The mountain is arranged well, lift service is adequate and mountain services are adequate.
CCindy
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 03, 2013
I selected it for the conditions, usually REALLY good and it provides a family atmosphere.
CCj
Superb!

5 / 5

Aug 18, 2013
There are always some fun groups playing (live music) and fun clubs to go to!
TTodd
Superb!

5 / 5

Aug 01, 2013
Great snow, fantastic town, huge mountain, and i have great friends who live there.
RRobin
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 05, 2013
This is a great resort to go to when you have a large group of varying ski abilities. Anyone can find something challenging at Steamboat.
BBill
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jun 29, 2013
Geat location for condos on the mountain, convienent to everything, great snow, great mountain, cool cowboy atmosphere, great for kids too
TTheresa
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 10, 2013
There is always lots of snow and lots of different terrain for all levels of skiers. And we really like to stay slopeside. This continues to be our favorite.
JJohnny
Superb!

5 / 5

Mar 24, 2013
The mountain and town are really awesome. They have the best snow conditions and the kid's love it.

Lifts

Gondola & Tram
1
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chairs
6
Double Chairs
2
Surface Lifts
2

Elevation

Base
6,900 feet
Summit
10,568 feet
Vertical drop
3,668 feet

Terrain

Total runs
165
Terrain Parks
5
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
2,965 acres
Snowmaking Area
375 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%