Steamboat Colorado

Superb

4.5 / 5

based on 68 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
42%
Advanced / Expert
44%

Overview

Steamboat is one of the top resorts in Colorado. With 165 runs spanning 2965 acres, it is well worth a visit if you find yourself in the area. To give you a snapshot of the resort, we've put together a comprehensive list of key statistics, including mountain profile, lift system, historical opening and closing dates, and ticket pricing. Make sure you read the reviews left by skiers and riders who've experienced it first hand, and check out how they rate the resort!

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Steamboat
Superb

4.5 / 5

based on 68 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
FFred
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jul 10, 2011
Steamboat has beautiful scenery in all the runs. If you burn your legs up too early, just turn down the degree of difficulty one notch and keep that smile.
EElizabeth
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 30, 2011
Accessibility to Steamboat is great. Flyinging into the Hayden Airport is easy. The skiing terrain is great for beginners to advanced skiers. Lots of wonderful choices for eating out.
KKen
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jun 25, 2010
STEAMBOAT HAS GREAT SKI CONDITIONS, USUALLY MINIMAL WIND MOSTLY WARM, GREAT FOOD, FRIENDLY PEOPLE.
MMichele
Superb!

5 / 5

Mar 09, 2010
WE HAVE TRAVELLED THERE FOR MANY YEARS- THE CHAMPAGNE SNOW IS AWESOME- THE KIDS SKII FREE IS A GREAT PROGRAM AND THE TOWN IS SO QUAINT AND WESTERN LIKE
SScott
Superb!

5 / 5

Dec 05, 2009
First skiied with my family on the kids ski free program. Great diversity in levels made it ideal for a family, and is still excellent as my kids have become adults and I need less of a challenge
RRobert
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 30, 2009
As we drive out to Steamboat every winter, it just happens to be the closest to Chicago by car.
EEileen
Very Good!

4 / 5

Sep 13, 2009
We have been there many times both with and without children and find it is also a very comfortable place to be.
MMichael
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 05, 2009
It has terrain for my wife as a beginner skier and for myself as an intermediate to advanced skier.
EEric
Average!

3 / 5

May 13, 2008
Again the lodging and the overall ski slops are main factors for us.
PPaul
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 22, 2008
Powder with the lowest moisture content, what's not to like. That and the short lift lines.

Lifts

Gondola & Tram
1
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chairs
6
Double Chairs
2
Surface Lifts
2

Elevation

Base
6,900 feet
Summit
10,568 feet
Vertical drop
3,668 feet

Terrain

Total runs
165
Terrain Parks
5
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
2,965 acres
Snowmaking Area
375 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%