Taos Ski Valley New Mexico

Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 28 reviews

Trails

Beginner
15%
Intermediate
17%
Advanced / Expert
68%

Trail maps

Overview

Taos Ski Valley is one of the top resorts in New Mexico. With 111 runs spanning 1294 acres, it is well worth a visit if you find yourself in the area. To give you a snapshot of the resort, we've put together a comprehensive list of key statistics, including mountain profile, lift system, historical opening and closing dates, and ticket pricing. Make sure you read the reviews left by skiers and riders who've experienced it first hand, and check out how they rate the resort!

Overall rating

Leave a review for Taos Ski Valley
Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 28 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
JJim
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 19, 2013
Actuallly all of the choices fit. I like the No Snowboards and great Terrain and snow conditions. It is not an overrun Vail celebrity big buck atmosphere and retains its southwest Atmosphere.
SStephanie
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 07, 2013
Taos has a great ski school and runs for all abilities. I get bored easily, but not there!
BBrandon
Very Good!

4 / 5

Feb 23, 2013
it's not the most time economical adventure yet the snow has been awesome almost every time i've gone.
RRad
Very Good!

4 / 5

Aug 22, 2012
Terrain is no. 1, but Taos is also close to our home in Texas and our condo in Angel Fire, NM. I don't mind snowboarders, but we don't have any boarders in the family, so the skiers only rule does not affect us. I also like the relative lack of glitz at Taos.
JJohn
Very Good!

4 / 5

May 28, 2012
This is actually one of many reasons that includes climate, scenery, food, and laid-back attitude of people compared to many big resorts. Oh, and no snowboards rule.
JJonathan
Superb!

5 / 5

Apr 25, 2012
The folks of the region are super friendly, old school ski feeling, amazing mountain, great snow conditions, no snowboarders to deal with, and does not have the I-70 Interstate of Colorado driving madness & resort commercialization...! Keep Taos snowboard free... =)
JJpw
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 21, 2012
Great mountain, no snow boards, base @9000 but can stay in the best town @6000 only 24 minutes away. Best of both worlds.
RRichard
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 11, 2012
Plenty of challenging runs plus great snow and that one of a kind New Mexico mystique.
JJorge
Very Good!

4 / 5

Aug 07, 2011
easy access from Albkk(70mi. dr)Beautiful slopes. good ski shool. Relatively inexpensive, compeared c/ other places
KKaren
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 09, 2010
Taos, New Mexico has the most beautiful mountains, rivers and valleys. One can the most gorgeous sunsets and sunrises.

Lifts

Quad Chairs
4
Triple Chairs
3
Double Chairs
5
Surface Lifts
3

Elevation

Base
9,206 feet
Summit
12,481 feet
Vertical drop
3,275 feet

Terrain

Total runs
111
Terrain Parks
1
Longest Run
5 miles
Skiable Terrain
1,294 acres
Snowmaking Area
647 acres
Other ski resorts in

New Mexico

Angel Fire Resort
21% 56% 23%
Cloudcroft
28% 32% 40%
Enchanted Forest
30% 50% 20%
Ski Apache
18% 55% 27%
Taos Ski Valley
15% 17% 68%