Jay Peak Vermont

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 20 reviews

Trails

Beginner
20%
Intermediate
40%
Advanced / Expert
40%

Trail maps

Overview

We hadn’t skied Jay Peak in over a decade so we decided to make a detour to check out the northern Vermont snow stash of Jay. Arriving at the resort, we were blown away by the dominant Hotel Jay all light up like a luxe alpine hotel, with the gigantic glass water park attached. From the lobby to the 5th-floor suites, Hotel Jay is posh, playful and perfectly poised to Jay's legendary tram and lifts.

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Jay Peak
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 20 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
EEric
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 15, 2013
Kids enjoyed ski school and were even able to take a private lesson. by the end of the day he had the kids skiing in the woods
BBetsy
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 12, 2013
Constantly overlooked by the major ski publications, Jay is by far the best in the east.
RRich
Very Good!

4 / 5

Jul 02, 2013
In addition to great snow, it is extremely customer friendly. The employees all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
JJoe
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 01, 2012
Jay is approx 2 hrs from me but the snow volume and terrain variety make it attractive and worth the trip.
JJoann
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 01, 2011
They usually have plenty of snow when others are lacking on the east coast.
BBill
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 31, 2011
It's like vermont was in the 70s. But with great snow, and no crowds
JJane
Very Good!

4 / 5

Nov 23, 2010
Jay Peak is in a micro climate that results in more snow consistently falling at Jay than elsewhere in New England. From the top of Jay Peak, you can see into Canada in one direction and the view in all directions is nothing short of spectacular. I also love the fact that two... More
RRobert
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 13, 2009
I am 73 years old, and while I love skiing in the West, the lower altitudes in Vermont, and also Austria and Switzerland are a bit easier for me to handle as my age. Jay Peak lodging was adjacent to chair lifts -- very simple. Resort well-run, including good lessons from patient... More
RRobert
Very Good!

4 / 5

May 25, 2006
Jay has variable terrain and the best glad skiing you'll find in the Northeast. Snow fall is extrodinarily high for New England.
TTara
Superb!

5 / 5

Jan 19, 2004
Jay Peak is a great place to go to right after a big snow. Or even a little snow. The terrain at Jay Peak is amazing and the tram takes you to places you've never been before. Jay Peak is a great place for any intermediate or advanced skier or rider.

Lifts

Gondola & Tram
1
High Speed Quad
1
Quad Chairs
3
Triple Chair
1
Double Chair
1
Surface Lifts
2

Elevation

Base
1,815 feet
Summit
3,968 feet
Vertical drop
2,153 feet

Terrain

Total runs
78
Terrain Parks
3
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
385 acres
Snowmaking Area
300 acres
Other ski resorts in

Vermont

Jay Peak
20% 40% 40%
Killington Resort
28% 33% 39%
Mad River Glen
20% 35% 45%
Mount Snow
14% 73% 13%
Okemo Mountain Resort
32% 37% 31%
Stowe Mountain Resort
16% 55% 29%
Stratton Mountain
41% 31% 28%
Sugarbush Resort
23% 43% 34%