Snowshoe Mountain West Virginia

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 46 reviews

Trails

Beginner
46%
Intermediate
35%
Advanced / Expert
19%

Trail maps

Overview

Snowshoe Mountain is one of the top resorts in West Virginia. With 57 runs spanning 256 acres, it is well worth a visit if you find yourself in the area. To give you a snapshot of the resort, we've put together a comprehensive list of key statistics, including mountain profile, lift system, historical opening and closing dates, and ticket pricing. Make sure you read the reviews left by skiers and riders who've experienced it first hand, and check out how they rate the resort!

Find out more about

Snowshoe Mountain

Overall rating

Leave a review for Snowshoe Mountain
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 46 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
BBob
Very Good!

4 / 5

May 17, 2013
Our son was employed to work at Snowshoe. Our visit was for that purpose. If we lived closer, we would visit more often.
TTony
Very Good!

4 / 5

Mar 29, 2013
It's the biggest mountain in the Mid-Atlantic, and one of the five biggest on the East Coast.
PPryce
Superb!

5 / 5

Nov 02, 2012
It is the best overall resort within a reasonable driving distance from my home.
SStacey
Very Good!

4 / 5

Sep 18, 2012
The mountains in West Virginia are just beautiful to look at and the ski slopes are awesome!
PPatti
Superb!

5 / 5

Sep 03, 2012
I like that they have lots of snow ( weather depending ) and the resort is attractive in design and fun.
SSharon
Very Good!

4 / 5

Aug 25, 2012
I learned to ski at Snowshoe about 16 years ago and still love skiing there - my children, the youth group from our church and I have spent our skiing time at Snowshoe many years. We always have good conditions, the slopes are not too crowded and there is a variety of difficulty... More
RRichie
Superb!

5 / 5

Jul 16, 2012
Snowshoe is the most awesome & cost effective ski trip from SC. It has ample terrain & slopes for everyone. Much easier to get my equipment on a car & ride 8 hours than to fly & rent!!!
HHelen
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 19, 2012
This is the only resort I've ever been to (first). It was a great experience and the lodging was excellent.
CCraig
Very Good!

4 / 5

Mar 15, 2012
For my family Snowshoe is part of our extended heritage. My wife and I grew up in Parsons, WV in the beautiful Mononghela National forest which is adjacent to Elkins and the Snowshoe area. We think it is wonderful that the land has been developed because of its natural beauty and... More
JJoe
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 30, 2011
this is my choice mountian because I've worked here 4 seasoons.2 in snowboard school, 2 in terrian park.The staff in ski school is the best...everyone from supervisors to rookies. Their training is top notch and standards are high but there is no egos. Ski/ride school is the best

Lifts

High Speed Quads
3
Quad Chairs
2
Triple Chairs
6
Surface Lifts
3

Elevation

Base
3,347 feet
Summit
4,847 feet
Vertical drop
1,500 feet

Terrain

Total runs
57
Terrain Parks
5
Longest Run
2 miles
Skiable Terrain
256 acres
Snowmaking Area
256 acres
Other ski resorts in

West Virginia

Canaan Valley Resort
19% 36% 45%
Snowshoe Mountain
46% 35% 19%