Copper Mountain Colorado

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 82 reviews

Trails

Beginner
21%
Intermediate
25%
Advanced / Expert
54%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Early season skiing supported by extensive snowmaking
  • Ideal resort for intermediates
  • Naturally divided ski terrain (beginner, intermediate, advanced terrain all separated)
  • Free snowcat Friday-Sunday! Gives access to above-treeline skiing when there's snow
  • Laid-back atmosphere and family-friendly

The Bad

  • Slightly less snow compared to other Summit County ski resorts
  • Solid ski area, but with no real standout runs
  • Mellow après ski scene

Find Freshies: Freshies get tracked out quick here, so take the snowcat and hike up to Tucker Mountain for the best fresh stuff

Ditch the Crowds: The base area lifts can quite busy and the runs under the American Eagle lift can get crowded. Instead, opt for lifts like Super Bee, Resolution and Alpine. They sit on the edge of the resort and give access to advanced terrain and long mogul runs. 

Local's Pick: Start off under the Sierra lift and dive into the trees at the bottom of Kaboom, where you'll find the snow stays fresh all thanks to Copper's north facing aspect. 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Copper Mountain
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 82 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
LLouie
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 17, 2017
My favorite. Copper has the best terrain in a condensed area. No wasted time on cat walks and lots of lifts to get where you need. Not as crowded as other resorts near summit also.
EDHErik D. H.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 17, 2017
After having taught at Copper for ten years I'm happy to say that it is an awesome place to ride! The culture there is more laid back than most of the surrounding resorts other than A-Basin. The terrain is as advertised, naturally separated, providing increases in overall... More
EDHErik D. H.
Average!

3 / 5

Oct 17, 2017
After having taught at Copper for ten years I'm happy to say that it is an awesome place to ride! The culture there is more laid back than most of the surrounding resorts other than A-Basin. The terrain is as advertised, naturally separated, providing increases in overall... More
MFMichael F.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 17, 2017
Copper has always been so fun from the park to the trees to the steep and deep. Love this mountain and the vibe. Started skiing there when I was a young buck and have continued to ski there because it's so amazing. Great staff, no lines, and such a great all mountain resort.
JKJustin K.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 16, 2017
I went to this ski resort last year and I was amazed at how awesome it was. It was my second time skiing and had a blast. Great service, amazing location, what more could you want? 5/5 would ski here again.
WJWake J.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 16, 2017
For being off of 1-70 the crowds are low. The terrain is fun and it doesn’t feel like the other big resorts off of 1-70. Free parking is great and Spaulding lift is great for all day laps
EElliot
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 11, 2017
Copper is my absolute favorite resort ever! From the time I get out of my car, to the time I leave the resort, Copper truly offers the best door to door experience. From skiing world class glades to legendary apres, Copper has it all!
DKDavid K.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 10, 2017
Copper is my go to resort. It has great steeps, snow and restaurants. The Tucker Mountain snow cat operation is great and you can always find good snow if you’re willing to hike a little ways.
EMEthan M.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 09, 2017
Best place to ski in summit county. The lift lines are not like the other mtns. A lot of terrain to choose from, the steeps in the backs the trees, the park, or just a groomer.
JJason
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 07, 2017
Copper Mountain has great terrain for all ability levels. Being along interstate 70 in Colorado, it’s easy to get to, especially convenient if you are coming from Denver and don’t want to drive over Vail pass.

Lifts

High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Triple Chairs
5
Double Chairs
4
Surface Lifts
8

Elevation

Base
9,712 feet
Summit
12,312 feet
Vertical drop
2,600 feet

Terrain

Total runs
142
Terrain Parks
6
Longest Run
2 miles
Skiable Terrain
2,490 acres
Snowmaking Area
364 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%