Keystone Colorado

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
29%
Advanced / Expert
57%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Massive ski terrain covering over 3,000 ac
  • Some of best long groomers in Colorado
  • Award-winning terrain parks, with its own lift
  • Night skiing available
  • Affordable and family-friendly

The Bad

  • Crowds can be a problem, especially on weekends
  • Not much extreme terrain to challenge advanced skiers and boarders
  • Lack of snowfall compared to other Summit County resorts 

Find Freshies: The Outback offers gladed terrain featuring untouched pow otherwise hike to the bowls above the Santiago Express and Outback Express for the best fresh stuff. 

Ditch the Crowds: Take the Summit Express Lift instead of the River Run Gondola. Both take you from the base to the top of Dercum Mountain but the River Run Gondola gets quite crowded, particularly before 10:00am. 

Local's Pick: Wolverine, Wildfire, Pika and Porcupine in The Outback are all some of our favorites, they're very loosely defined in gladed terrain, so feel free to get wild here! 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Keystone
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
JJulie
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 04, 2012
The layout of the ski runs and their flexibility are my reasons for recommending Keystone over other resorts
KKathy
Average!

3 / 5

Dec 02, 2011
Has a great wine tasting option.
SSarah
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 14, 2011
We always have SO much fun when we ski Keystone- that's why we've been going back season after season!
MMax
Very Good!

4 / 5

Aug 01, 2011
Probably my favorite since it was the first place i went in Colorado so I had nothing to compare it to while i was there.
PPamela
Superb!

5 / 5

Mar 01, 2011
we spent a week at Holiday Valley this year. IT was not on your list but a fun ski filled time. It was challenging for the whole family, including a telemarker and snow boarder. we went to Keystone a few years back (before kids) and that was great also. Lots of variety in terrain... More
PPeppec
Superb!

5 / 5

Jun 16, 2010
Great resort - good mix of green/blue/black runs. Great terrain park. Accomodations are nice. Love the gondola on cold days and the express on warmer. Most of all, the employees are all polite, fun, and seem to love their jobs which makes the stay exceptional.
MMark
Very Good!

4 / 5

Mar 19, 2010
It is difficult to choose the best element of Keystone. It is our favorite because of the totally friendly atmosphere. Great lodging at reasonable prices, village shops and excellent skiing.
JJared
Superb!

5 / 5

Feb 22, 2010
Night Skiing allows you to get the most for your money, and pack a ton of skiing into your trip.
LLaura
Average!

3 / 5

Dec 25, 2009
reasonable priced lodging on the slopes
SStephen
Very Good!

4 / 5

Feb 21, 2009
keystone was breath taking there is a difference betwenn east coast sking and west sking. the lodging was nice but i think i will research more next trip our unit was too small for 3 and too much like a hotel but the area was beautiful and the mountain was amazing.

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
2
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chair
1
Double Chairs
3
Surface Lifts
7

Elevation

Base
9,279 feet
Summit
12,408 feet
Vertical drop
3,129 feet

Terrain

Total runs
131
Terrain Parks
1
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
3,148 acres
Snowmaking Area
662 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%