Keystone Colorado

Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

Trails

Beginner
14%
Intermediate
29%
Advanced / Expert
57%
Award of Excellence Badge

Trail maps

Overview

The Good 

  • Massive ski terrain covering over 3,000 ac
  • Some of best long groomers in Colorado
  • Award-winning terrain parks, with its own lift
  • Night skiing available
  • Affordable and family-friendly

The Bad

  • Crowds can be a problem, especially on weekends
  • Not much extreme terrain to challenge advanced skiers and boarders
  • Lack of snowfall compared to other Summit County resorts 

Find Freshies: The Outback offers gladed terrain featuring untouched pow otherwise hike to the bowls above the Santiago Express and Outback Express for the best fresh stuff. 

Ditch the Crowds: Take the Summit Express Lift instead of the River Run Gondola. Both take you from the base to the top of Dercum Mountain but the River Run Gondola gets quite crowded, particularly before 10:00am. 

Local's Pick: Wolverine, Wildfire, Pika and Porcupine in The Outback are all some of our favorites, they're very loosely defined in gladed terrain, so feel free to get wild here! 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Keystone
Fabulous

4.4 / 5

based on 130 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
RNRyan N.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 14, 2017
My favorite run in Colorado is on the way back of keystone. Wish there were less long lines but what can ya do? Can't wait for key to be open though!
BEBrian E.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 11, 2017
Who wants to waste time standing in line ir riding the chair? Keystone has great long runs compared to the others in the area not to mention you can extend your day into night when they glip the lights on to get some extra runs in.
YLYicheng L.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 10, 2017
Nice resort to visit. The Dercum mountain is loaded with a variety of trails and the spring dipper is my favorite since it is less crowded and very wide. North peak and outback are full of fun, including a lot of tree terrains and some fun powders.
PPPhat P.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 10, 2017
My go to resort. Affordable season pass. Night time skiing. Great and helpful staff, and very nice village area. Also can't say enough about their ski school who made a better skier than I ever though I could be
SHSimon H.
Very Good!

4 / 5

Oct 10, 2017
Great family-friendly ski resort, featuring three separate peaks, several alpine bowls, night skiing and in-bounds cat skiing options. Over 3,000 acres of skiable terrain. Very conveniently located a short drive from Denver. Highly recommend!
JPJosh P.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 09, 2017
Keystone is, by far, one of my favorite ski destinations. The resort really takes the ski experience to a whole new level. The town is beautiful and the slopes are unbelievable. I would highly recommend to anyone seeking the ultimate ski getaway.
RNRyan N.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 09, 2017
From the friendly welcoming staff to the trails a plenty Keystone is my favorite place in Colorado. Not too far from the city but far enough to truly enjoy what Colorado has to offer.
RRickey
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 08, 2017
Keystone resort is my favorite place to snowboard. If you buy the pass early enough it's the most affordable place to ski/board for the season. We get a large group from Georgia to go every year. Great terrain park, back country, and groomers. 3000 acres makes it hard to... More
BMBen M.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 08, 2017
The spring season mogul skiing on North Peak is to die for. almost1500' vertical, high speed lift, no crowds, free parking close to base and Sun facing slopes! A dream come true
MCMarcus C.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 08, 2017
Keystone is my favorite resort. I have been there over 40 times. A few times I have been first chair. Anyone who is thinking of planning a trip to keystone. You better book for a whole week. Will be the best week of your life.

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
2
High Speed Six
1
High Speed Quads
5
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chair
1
Double Chairs
3
Surface Lifts
7

Elevation

Base
9,279 feet
Summit
12,408 feet
Vertical drop
3,129 feet

Terrain

Total runs
131
Terrain Parks
1
Longest Run
3 miles
Skiable Terrain
3,148 acres
Snowmaking Area
662 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%