Vail Colorado

Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 163 reviews

Trails

Beginner
18%
Intermediate
29%
Advanced / Expert
53%

Overview

The Good 

  • Biggest ski area in Colorado covering 5,289 ac
  • Pristinely groomed and long wide runs 
  • Charming European-style pedestrian-friendly ski town 
  • Plenty of off-slope activities to keep skiers and non-skiers entertained 
  • Iconic Colorado ski destination

The Bad

  • Crowds can be a real pain
  • Prepare to dig deep into your pockets, it’s an expensive place to ski
  • Lacks an abundance of steep terrain
  • Quite corporate so lacks the local charm of other resorts
  • I-70 can be closed during snowstorms, with Vail Pass being one of the main closures, meaning you can't get in or out of town

Find Freshies: Fresh pow gets quickly tracked out in the easier-to-access bowls, so venture out east to Siberia (in particular the Rasputin's Revenge run) and Mongolia Bowls. You'll also find some good stuff between the trees. 

Ditch the Crowds: To escape the crowds at Mid Vail, head west to the long runs above Lionshead such as Bwana, Born Free and Simba.  

Local's Pick: You have to check out Forever. It has just the right steepness for the perfect ride and you can enjoy some stunning scenery as you zush down the mountain! 

Continue reading →

Overall rating

Leave a review for Vail
Fabulous

4.5 / 5

based on 163 reviews

How well the resort caters for beginner skiers / boarders

Beginners

How well the resort caters for intermediate skiers / boarders?

Intermediates

How well the resort caters for advanced skiers / boarders

Advanced

How accessible and convenient it is to get to this resort from a major destination

Accessibility

Quality of the off-piste terrain

Side/Backcountry

Overall value for money of the resort

Value for money

Quality of lifts, lift speed and lift layout in the resort

Lifts

Quantity and quality of the snow

Snow

How uncrowded is the resort

Uncrowded

Après ski and dining options

Town

Services and facilities e.g. child care, tubing, health care, equipment hire

Facilities

How family friendly is this resort?

Family Friendliness
WMWes M.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 27, 2017
1 of my favorite things about Vail is it's size. Even on crowded days when people are parking next to the interstate, there are still runs that aren't jammed with people. The bowls here are fantastic as well. I higy recommend Vail.
EWEvan W.
Average!

3 / 5

Oct 26, 2017
Massive resort. Multi-day trips ideal, but expensive. Many of the runs are connected by cat walks which can make for a frustrating day on a snowboard. Overall impressive, but that comes with a crowd.
TRTravis R.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 26, 2017
I am in Love with the back bowls. You must try it. It has to be a slice of heaven. You won't regret it, I promise you that. Exspecialy on a poEspeciallywer especially on a powder day.
KWKyle W.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 25, 2017
Vail Mountain is truly a once in a lifetime experience. I highly recommend going to the back bowls on a powder day! Blue Sky Basin offers amazing vistas and views.
BMBrandon M.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 24, 2017
Loved skiing Vail and will never forget the sights. Large mountain, enough to have a large resolt feel but enough mountain for everyone. Conditions were great. The village is amazing! I am already planning on going back. Would always reccomend
LSLuke S.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 24, 2017
Vail is by far the best riding I've ever done. It's like being at 20 ski resorts all bundled into one limitless amount of fun. Vail isn't cheap so bring your wallet but if you love to ski or ride you can expect to have a great time!
DDDave D.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 21, 2017
I Love Vail. It’s a beautiful mountain with great snow and incredible terrain. You can usually find space to yourself on runs in the back. The blue sky area is my favorite
EWEvan W.
Poor!

1 / 5

Oct 20, 2017
Vail is for the rich snobs and the tourists who don't know any better. This place sucks. So packed you won't know what to do. The back bowls are pretty bomber, but the snow here is weak sauce!
WBWyatt B.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 18, 2017
Large Bowls and Beautiful Scenery to go along with deep powder days. The accommodations and restaurants are amazing with five star restaurants and spas. You are sure to have a great time in Vail
MMMark M.
Superb!

5 / 5

Oct 18, 2017
Perhaps I'm biased being from Colorado, but it doesn't get much better (if at all) than Vail. The town, the slopes, the nightlife - all are world class. Easily my favorite! Been here many times with friends and family. There is something for all ages. You simply cannot go wrong... More

Lifts

Gondola & Trams
2
High Speed Sixes
3
High Speed Quads
14
Quad Chair
1
Triple Chairs
2
Surface Lifts
9

Elevation

Base
8,120 feet
Summit
11,570 feet
Vertical drop
3,450 feet

Terrain

Total runs
195
Terrain Parks
4
Longest Run
4 miles
Skiable Terrain
5,289 acres
Snowmaking Area
461 acres
Other ski resorts in

Colorado

Arapahoe Basin
10% 30% 60%
Aspen Highlands
18% 30% 52%
Aspen Mountain
0% 48% 52%
Beaver Creek
19% 42% 39%
Breckenridge
11% 31% 58%
Buttermilk
35% 39% 26%
Copper Mountain
21% 25% 54%
Crested Butte
26% 57% 17%
Echo Mountain
43% 43% 14%
Eldora
20% 50% 30%
Keystone
14% 29% 57%
Loveland
13% 41% 46%
Monarch Mountain
23% 28% 49%
Powderhorn
20% 50% 30%
Purgatory
20% 45% 35%
Snowmass
10% 43% 47%
Steamboat
14% 42% 44%
Telluride
14% 29% 57%
Vail
18% 29% 53%
Winter Park Resort
24% 37% 39%
Wolf Creek
20% 35% 45%